All mobile plans
Mobile plans · Side by side

Boost Mobile vs Optus

vs

Different towers: Boost Mobile is on Telstra’s network, Optus on Optus’s.

Compare on
Cheapest plan with 40GB or more, a month once any intro deal ends
$53.23
$49 Prepaid SIM · 45GB every 28 days
Intro: $17 for the first 28 days · $607 in the first year
$54.32
120GB Prepaid SIM · 40GB every 28 days
Intro: $17 for the first 28 days · $619 in the first year

Boost Mobile's cheapest with 40GB or more costs $1.09 less a month than Optus's, once any intro deal ends.

Data a month: 40GB to start, or pick another
Boost Mobile$49 Prepaid SIM · 45GB every 28 days
Optus120GB Prepaid SIM · 40GB every 28 days
Network
whose towers, and how much of them
Telstra network
The whole network · owned by Telstra
Optus network
Optus’s own brand
Cheapest with 40GB or more
a month, once any intro deal ends
$53.23
$49 Prepaid SIM · 45GB every 28 days
$1.09 a month less · Lower price a month
$54.32
120GB Prepaid SIM · 40GB every 28 days
First year
on that plan, with any intro deal
$607
with the intro deal
$12 less · Lower first year
$619
with the intro deal
Intro deal
any new customer gets
$17 for the first 28 days · 75GB for the first 6 recharges
other offers noted, not priced
$17 for the first 28 days · 120GB for the first 3 recharges
other offers noted, not priced
Data on that plan
a month, once any bonus ends
49GB
a month · 45GB every 28 days
+5.4GB · More data
43GB
a month · 40GB every 28 days
Lowest price per GB
among plans with 40GB or more
74.0c
$74 Prepaid SIM · 100GB every 28 days
18.8c
Large Choice Plus Plan · 480GB
55.3c less · Lower price per GB
Speed cap
on that plan
Up to 150Mbps
Not stated
Unused data
on that plan
Rolls over, limit not stated
Rolls over, up to 200GB
International calls
on that plan
Unlimited calls to 20 countries, 300 minutes to 30 more
Not included
5G
on that plan
Yes
Yes
Ways to pay
Prepaid · Year up front
Prepaid · Monthly bill · Year up front
Plans BankMate lists
9 plans
8.7GB to 109GB a month
13 plans
16GB to 480GB a month

The cheapest plan at every amount of data

Boost MobileOptus
$0$25$50$751GB5GB10GB20GB40GB100GB300GB
40GB or more a month · yours
Boost Mobile$53.23
Optus$54.32
Cheapest plan a month, once any intro deal ends

For each amount of data a month, each provider's cheapest plan with at least that much, priced a month once any intro deal ends; the dashed line is the data the page is on. A line steps up where a provider's next plan starts, and stops where it sells nothing bigger. Year-long plans count at a twelfth of the year.

Boost Mobile · $49 Prepaid SIM
Go to site
Optus · 120GB Prepaid SIM
Go to site

Cheapest plan with 40GB or more a month, once any intro deal ends: Boost Mobile $53.23 a month (Telstra’s network); Optus $54.32 a month (Optus’s network). Prices as each provider publishes them on its own plan pages, last read 7 Oct. An intro price any new customer gets counts in the first year; port-in, bundle and members' prices are noted, never priced. Each row says which figure is lower or higher; it doesn't say which provider suits you.

Compare all 222 plans

Other comparisons