Everyday accounts · Side by side
ANZ Plus vs CommBank Smart Access
ANZ Plus Everyday and CommBank Smart Access, side by side on what a year of spending costs in bank fees.
vs
Compare on
A year's bank fees
$206
No monthly fee
$237
$4 a month, waived on these answers
ANZ Plus costs $31 less a year than CommBank Smart Access on this spending.
Spent overseas a year
Cash withdrawals overseas a year
Paid in a month
Until you set them, priced on $5,000 spent overseas, 4 withdrawals of $300 and $2,000 paid in a month, as the leaderboards are.
ANZ PlusANZ Plus
Commonwealth BankCommBank Smart Access
Figure by figure
Monthly fee
before any waiver
$0
No account fee filed
$4 less · Lower monthly fee
$4
Waived on your answers. Waived when: Under 30; You have a disability that requires you to use a branch (visit a branch to apply).; or 5 more
Fee on spending overseas
a purchase in another currency
3%
0.5% lower · Lower fee overseas
3.5%
This is the bank’s own fee. The ATM’s owner may charge its own fee on top, which banks don’t publish, so it isn’t counted.
Overseas ATM
the bank’s own fee
$5
a withdrawal, plus the fee overseas
$5
When you take money out at ASB ATMs in NZ or CommBank ATMs outside Australia.
Another bank’s ATM here
in Australia
—
Not published
—
Not published
Phone and watch payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin Pay
Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin Pay, Fitbit Pay
Card
Visa debit
Debit Mastercard
PayID
Yes
Yes
Joint account
Not stated
Not stated
Who can open it
15 and over
Any age
Government guarantee
the Financial Claims Scheme
Yes
up to $250,000, as a bank
Yes
up to $250,000, as a bank
As of 26 October 2026, on a year of $5,000 spent in other currencies, four $300 withdrawals at overseas ATMs and $2,000 paid in each month, ANZ Plus Everyday costs $206 in bank fees; CommBank Smart Access costs $237 in bank fees. Fees are the providers' own, from Open Banking or their pricing pages, worked out on the answers above. Each row says which figure is lower, nothing more.