Everyday accounts · Side by side

Up vs Wise

Up Everyday Account and Wise Account, side by side on what a year of spending costs in bank fees.

vs
Compare on
A year's bank fees
$0
No monthly fee
$17
No monthly fee

Up costs $17 less a year than Wise on this spending.

Spent overseas a year
Cash withdrawals overseas a year
Paid in a month

Until you set them, priced on $5,000 spent overseas, 4 withdrawals of $300 and $2,000 paid in a month, as the leaderboards are.

UpUp
WiseWise
Monthly fee
before any waiver
$0
No monthly fee
$0
one price, no waivers
Fee on spending overseas
a purchase in another currency
No fee
Mastercard's rate, with no Up markup
0.34% lower · Lower fee overseas
0.34%
The mid-market rate, with the fee shown separately
This is the bank’s own fee. The ATM’s owner may charge its own fee on top, which banks don’t publish, so it isn’t counted.
Overseas ATM
the bank’s own fee
No bank fee
None to $400
a month, then 2.69%
Another bank’s ATM here
in Australia
—
Not published
—
Not published
Plans
One account
no plans to pick
One plan
Wise $0
Phone and watch payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin Pay, Fitbit Pay
Not stated
Card
Not stated
Not stated
PayID
Yes
Not stated
Joint account
Not stated
Not stated
Who can open it
16 and over
18 and over
Government guarantee
the Financial Claims Scheme
Yes
up to $250,000, as a bank
No
Not a bank
Up · Up Everyday Account
Go to siteMore from Up
Wise · Wise Account
Go to siteMore from Wise

As of 26 October 2026, on a year of $5,000 spent in other currencies, four $300 withdrawals at overseas ATMs and $2,000 paid in each month, Up Everyday Account costs $0 in bank fees; Wise Account costs $17 in bank fees. Fees are the providers' own, from Open Banking or their pricing pages, worked out on the answers above. Each row says which figure is lower, nothing more.

Compare all 86 everyday accounts

Other comparisons